KMJQ Featured Video

Andre Dawson was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame Wednesday in his ninth year on the ballot.

In a shock, he was the sole inductee this year, with 77.9 percent of the vote. Bert Blyleven received 74.2 percent of the vote, and Roberto Alomar, whom many had anticipated would be a shoo-in, was third with 73.7 percent.

 Edgar Martinez, Barry Larkin and Fred McGriff also were new to the ballot this year, and Martinez was a test of how Hall voters assess players who were predominantly designated hitters.

Holdovers include Mark McGwire, Jack Morris and Lee Smith.

Players must appear on at least 75 percent of the ballots to gain election.

The induction ceremony will be held July 25 in Cooperstown, N.Y.



Also On Majic 102.1:
Rest In Power: Notable Black Folks Who We’ve Lost In 2021
42 photos