Listen Live
KMJQ Featured Video
Black Girls Rock! 2016 - Show

Source: Gilbert Carrasquillo / Getty

Brandy is set to be honored with the second ever Lady of Soul Award at the 2016 Soul Train Music Awards. Teddy Riley will also be honored with this year’s Legend Award. Meanwhile, Drake has earned 12 nominations, including two in the Video of the Year category for “Hotline Bling” and for his appearance on Rihanna’s “Work.”

Meanwhile, Beyoncé scored eight nominations, including Album/Mixtape of the Year for Lemonade. She is also up for Video of the Year for “Formation” and “Sorry.” Kanye West also snagged a Video of The Year nomination for his video for “Fade.”

There will be a Soul Train weekend from Nov. 3rd-6th with performances from Jill Scott, Tyrese, Monica, Anthony Hamilton, Jazmine Sullivan, Bell Biv DeVoe, Yuna, and Kid Capri, among others, as well as a comedy component featuring BET’s “The Comedy Get Down” cast of Cedric The Entertainer, D.L. Hugley, George Lopez, Eddie Griffin, and Charlie Murphy.

Erykah Badu returns as the show’s host. The show will be taped early next month but will air on November 28th on Centric and BET.

Chuck Brown On Soul Train

Source: Afro Newspaper/Gado / Getty

Soul Train Awards 2016 Nominees:

Best New Artist

Anderson .Paak

Andra Day

Bryson Tiller

Chance The Rapper

Ro James

Tory Lanez

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

Anthony Hamilton

Bryson Tiller


The Weeknd


Centric Certified Award

After 7

Anderson .Paak


Lalah Hathaway

Musiq Soulchild

Video of the Year

Beyoncé – “Formation”

Beyoncé – “Sorry”

Drake – “Hotline Bling”

Kanye West – “Fade”

Rihanna feat. Drake – “Work”

Best Gospel/Inspirational Song

Donnie McClurkin – “I Need You”

Hezekiah Walker – “Better”

Kirk Franklin – “123 Victory”

Tamela Mann – “God Provides”

Travis Greene – “Made A Way”

Album/Mixtape of the Year

Beyoncé – LEMONADE

Bryson Tiller – T R A P S O U L

DJ Khaled – Major Key

Drake – Views

Kanye West – The Life Of Pablo

Rihanna – Anti

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist

Alicia Keys



Jill Scott


Song of the Year

Adele – “Hello”

Beyoncé – “Formation”

Bryson Tiller – “Don’t”

Drake – “Controlla”

Rihanna feat. Drake – “Work”

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award

“Hello” – Written By: Adele Laurie Blue Adkins, Gregory Allen Kurstin (Adele)

“Rise Up” – Written By: Andra Day, Jennifer Decilveo (Andra Day)

“Formation” – Written By: Michael L. Williams Li, Beyoncé Knowles, Khalif Brown, Aaquil Brown, Asheton Hogan, (Beyoncé)

“Don’t” – Written By: Johntá M. Austin, Mariah Carey, Bryan-Michael Cox, Jermaine Dupri, Tavoris Javon Hollins, Isom Brandon Stewart, Bryson Dejuan Tiller (Bryson Tiller)

“Needed Me” – Written By: Nicholas Valentino Audino, Rachel Derrus, Adam King Feeney, Robyn R. Fenty, Brittany Talia Hazzard, Charles Hinshaw Jr., Lewis Beresford Hughes, Dijon Isaiah Mcfarlane, Khaled Rohaim, Te Whiti Te Rangitepaia Mataa Warbick (Rihanna)

Best Dance Performance

Beyoncé – “Formation”

Drake – “Hotline Bling”

Kanye West (Dance Performance feat. Teyana Taylor) – “Fade”

Rihanna feat. Drake – “Work”

Usher feat. Young Thug – “No Limit”

Best Collaboration

Beyoncé feat. Kendrick Lamar – “Freedom”

Chance the Rapper feat. Lil Wayne & 2 Chainz – “No Problem”

DJ Khaled feat. Drake – “For Free”

Fat Joe & Remy Ma feat. French Montana & Infared – “All The Way Up”

Rihanna feat. Drake – “Work”