If you want to purchase cigarettes, e-cigarettes, and other tobacco products, there’s a new minimum age requirement you have to meet.
Governor Greg Abbot signed into law on Friday, an increase to the minimum age to purchase tobacco products from 18 years old to 21. According to those who support the age increase, the law should reduce the risk of addiction.
The law takes effect on September 1st.
Military members are exempt from the law and it states a violation amounts to a Class C misdemeanor and a fine of up to $500.
Texas is the sixth state to raise or already have raised the legal tobacco age joining California, New Jersey, Oregon, Massachusetts, Arkansas, and Virginia.
According to State Representative John Zerwas, smoking costs the state about $8.9 billion every year in direct health costs.
According to statistics shared by group Texas21, a little over 7.4% of Texas high school students smoke, and about 95% of smokers start before 21.