Listen Live
KMJQ Featured Video

Source: FEMA / FEMA


The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has extended federal disaster aid to include 51 additional Texas counties. This amendment provides for supplemental funding for infrastructure repairs in the wake of May’s severe storms, tornadoes, straight line winds and flooding.  Eligible applicants in the following counties can now apply for FEMA Public Assistance (PA) reimbursement for repairs to roads and bridges, water control facilities, city- and county-owned buildings and equipment, utilities, parks and recreational facilities and other public as well as some private facilities:

Angelina, Archer, Atascosa, Bastrop, Baylor, Blanco, Bowie, Burleson, Caldwell, Cass, Cherokee, Clay, Comal, Comanche, Denton, Fannin, Fayette, Garza, Gillespie, Grayson, Harrison, Henderson, Hood, Houston, Jasper, Johnson, Kaufman, Kendall, Lamar, Lee, Liberty, Lynn, Madison, Milam, Montague, Nacogdoches, Newton, Polk, Refugio, Rusk, Sabine, San Jacinto, Travis, Tyler, Uvalde, Walker, Wharton, Williamson, Wilson, Wise and Zavala.

In the original May 29 declaration, Cooke, Gaines, Grimes, Harris, Hays, Navarro, and Van Zandt counties were designated for FEMA Public Assistance funding for debris removal and emergency protective measures taken to protect life, public safety, and property. Those counties are now eligible to apply for reimbursement for infrastructure repairs as well.
Supplementary funding under the PA program goes to the state and eligible agencies, tribal governments, local governments, and certain private nonprofit organizations. Under the program, FEMA obligates funds to the state for 75 percent of eligible costs, while the applicant covers the remaining 25 percent. The state forwards the federal funds to the eligible local governments or organizations that incurred costs.
For more information on Texas disaster recovery, visit online You can follow us on Twitter or on Facebook at